Heavy Whipping Cream

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

luckieazn87

Assistant Cook
Hey, I'm a new member to this forum. I've just recently developped an interest in cooking, so I have very little knowledge and experience in cooking. I have a question regarding heavy whipping cream. I can't just seem to get it to whip into that whip cream texture that it should be. I don't have any of those fancy machines, so I had to do it by hand, but it didn't work. Is there an easier and faster way to do it, besides using those machines?

it's all about the elbow grease....same thing with a meringue. you not only have to whip it, but whip it fast. if you don't have a kitchen aid or hand mixer, your hand and a whisk is the only way to do it.

make sure you use a stainless steel or copper bowl too.

I think it goes faster with a pretty stiff whisk rather than a really floppy one. You can get little hand-held mixers for pretty cheap if you're going to be whipping stuff often. I just do it by hand sometimes because I can pretend that was my cardio for the day! Just like kneading is an upper-body work-out. ;)

Whipping cream by hand is possible, but very difficult; definitely not for the faint of heart. Don't bother with the little hand mixers you get at the dollar store; I have found them to be almost completely useless. Just get a run-of-the-mill wire whisk, put the cream, right out of the fridge, (it is easier if it is cold) in a relatively small bowl, and just keep whipping until either it whips or your heart explodes, whichever comes first. As for meringue, I don't recommend it; it is nearly impossible to whip meringue properly by hand, and you're likely to give yourself a coronary in the process. Do your heart a favor and buy a hand mixer; they can be had for a mere $40.00 Canadian.