What do you do?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

texasgirl

Master Chef
This has probably already been done, sorry if so. Just curious. What do you do for a living? Do you like it, are you happy?

I am the one and only graphics person in my bil's sign company. I do the drawings for approval and apply the vinyl to all the signs.
I like it okay. I'm sick of the DRAMA!! I want to find another job, but, I wouldn't be able to find one here with the flexibility that I have and I've been out of clerical work too long and wouldn't know how to run most of the new programs.

That can be a loaded question. Especially for me. But, I'll give you a glimpse into the life of the Big Dog.

I have a bachelor of science degree in law enforcement, although I am not currently in law enforcement. Not for lack of trying. Problem there is far more applicants than openings. Also, I'm no spring chicken, and most of the competition are people barely in their 20's and the same education/training. The problem with going elsewhere is that none of my training would transfer with me.

So, I'm looking into culinary arts, and likely going back to school for that.

In the mean time, I work for a company that sells moving and packing supplies (boxes, bubble wrap, etc.) bot wholesale and retail. My title is sales, but I spend more time warehousing and delivering than selling. As a side part to the job, the company rents Budget moving trucks, so I am involved in that too. As for liking my job, it's a rollercoaster ride. It's not where I want to make my career, that's for sure. Pay sucks, and the hours and work is far more then I am paid. But, it works for now, and there is flexibility for schooling. Hopefully doors will open and I can do something I enjoy while not killing myself doing it!