Pickling peppers?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dina

Executive Chef
I decided to also pickle my garden peppers, aside from drying them. I mixed in some of my garden carrots and added plain vinegar and salt. Should I add any powdered spices? I wonder if some cloves of garlic and sliced onions would give it some flavor? Any advise?

During pickling season in the Fall, supermarkets often sell packages of pickling spices. They add a nice pickle flavor to the batch.

Garlic and onions will ad a nice flavor to yor peppers. You could also add some dried hot peppers.

Thanks Andy. I'll look out for the spices next Fall. Just roasted some garlic and onion and added them in the pickling jar of peppers.

I am new to canning and did not realize they sold pickling spices. I grew some pepperoncini last year and canned them for the first time. I will try the packets next year. Thanks. :)

When I canned my peppers, I bought some of the mason jars and boiled them first. I don't have a canning set, so I just used one of my stock pots and boiled them. Then after they cooled, I put my peppers and brine into the jar and put the lids on. Then I turned them upside down and boiled them for a little while longer. I am sure I probably didn't do some things right, but wanted to be sure they were safe to eat.

As I said though, I am new to canning peppers and this was my first attempt. I am going to try and find a cookbook for canning and then I'm sure I will answer my questions that way. I was surprised at how many peppers my plants had made during the last part of the summer and needed to do something with them before they turned bad. :)

Dina said:
Can the pickled peppers be left outside the fridge?

I wouldn't, based on your description of what you did.

Dina said:
Should I have boiled the cans?