Never cooked before...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Iamadoorknob

Assistant Cook
Everywhere between Los Angeles and Fresno, CA
Hey...I'm new to this forum. So let me introduce myself!

I'm Brian...I'm 18 and I'm a freshman at Cal State University, Fresno. I've never cooked anything before (I've set some brownies on fire by accident though) and I'm really getting tierd of going out to eat every single day. Can someone give me some easy stuff to cook...and how to make it and stuff. thanks!

Welcome, Brian - interesting nic...

What kinds of things do you like to eat? I'm sure we can send lots of ideas your way...

Watch a lot of cooking shows. Every day. You can get the recipes but you'll need someone to teach you some sort of technique. That in itself is much more important then the recipes.

Just don't watch Emeril Live.

Welcome Brian! I've always thought that if anyone can read and know the basic measurements, they can very well follow a recipe and cook. I would suggest you get ahold of some essential herbs and spices, your favorite staples (pastas, rice, legumes) and some good cuts of meats and poultry and visit us here often. You've come to a great place full of awsome cooks.

I suggest going to www.foodtv.com and looking for any of Rachel Ray's recipes. She is into fast and simple but very flavorful and satisfying recipes. You will easily recognize everything that she prepares and her recipes will get you going without any fear of screwing anything up.

Her cookbooks are also very nicely written and edited.

Another question, Brian...what kind of cooking appliances do you have? Stove with burners and oven? Microwave? Toaster oven?

callie said:
Another question, Brian...what kind of cooking appliances do you have? Stove with burners and oven? Microwave? Toaster oven?