College Cooking Tips

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Userfriendly

Assistant Cook
Alright, I'm a college student currently living in a kitchen-less dorm. Without access to any sort of cooking appliances short of a microwave, I was wondering if anyone out there has any sort of fun recipes that involve food items that aren't ramen or single serving soups.

I have access to a grocery across the street, as well as microwave-safe bowls. I like variety, so eating the same things every day is getting boring.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

I used to love to make veggie wraps in college. Get some hummas and taboli and some shredded carrots and sprouts and any other veggies you like. Roll it up and enjoy.

Do you have an iron? We used to use ours for making grilled cheese or "grilling" other sandwiches (cause ya know we sure didn't use it to iron our clothes). Just use a piece of aluminum foil if your iron is not clean enough to eat off of.

First, welcome to DC.

I will assume you and your dorm mates all have a microwave.

Why not set up a communal deal where you all chip in some $ and make a meal once in a while?

Just off the top of my head, how about tacos?

Can cook the ground beef in the nuker, and serve with taco shells, or nachos, cut up lettuce, diced tomatoes, shredded cheese (you can get a box shredder really cheap at a supermarket or can just buy it that way), sliced jalapenos from the jar, sliced black olives from the can, and some sour cream. Or you can add or subtract anything you like.

And each ingredient can be made in a different room.

There are many meals that can be made in the microwave. It may not be the best way to cook many foods, but one can do an adequate or even very good job in the beast. Particularly with casseroles. Just Google for recipes.

It may take a bit of imagination, but as I remember in college that was not lacking.