Measure or not to measure... that is the question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tamholt

Assistant Cook
I think I am a decent cook. Although, I measure everything. I lack that naturally cook - my dad has it but I don't trust myself enough not to measure.

Last edited by a moderator:
tamholt said:
I don't trust myself enough not to measure.
That just comes with time and practice. Try not measuring every once in a while. I bet you will be better at it than you think.

When it comes to regular cooking, the only time I measure is when I'm trying out a new recipe and for baking.

Otherwise, the things that I cook on a routine basis, I mainly just eyeball it. Like the time last winter when I made Shephard's Pie for the first time, I just eyeballed everything.

~Corey123.

Huh, I wish I knew how to mesuare food for the recipe. You are lucky to be doing that. I can't follow recipe for the life of me. That is why none of my food ever tastes the same. And it's okay if tastes better, but it is not always the case. Good luck to you. Measuring is the last thing I would be worrying in the kitchen.

As for taste, try seasoning the food at the beginning, then tasting halfway through the cooking process, then tasting again near the end of the cooking process to see what it needs or doesn't need.

It's better this way because you eliminate having too muich of something, in the food such as salt or pepper. This works for me!

You can always add, but you can't take away.

~Corey123.

I also eyeball the amount in most cases, except for certain situation (baking, making ice cream, totally a new recipe I am not accustomed to etc.)