Making Jam

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

debbie_7155

Assistant Cook
Hi im thinking of making some jam as i have quite alot of fruit mainly berry types in my freezer from picking in my garden last year,

i have never done jam before, so im not sure how to make it & what other ingredients i need..like the type of sugar ?
& do i need to buy a thick copper pan for making jam?

whats the best thing to preserve the jam into after?, do i have to steralise the bottles ?

& how do i seal the lids ?
thank you:)

thanks thumpershere2 for that great link

ive allways thought id need a copper pan for cooking the fruit, proper jam sugar for sweetness

is vaccuming the lids hard to do ?

When you put the hot jam into the jars and put the lids on (remember not to overtighten) the heat will seal the jars and as they cool they will vacuum themselves tight. Its as simple as that.

oh wow ty Alix, it all makes sense to me now, i just wanted to make sure i would be doing the right thing before i make a start on it

Another great resource is the Ball Blue Book. It is the canning bible. You can usually find it wherever you buy your canning supplies, but you can also get it in book stores and online. Here is a page where you can find it.

To make strawberry jam I use:
6 C crushed strawberries
4 C sugar
Allow to set for a couple hours or overnight
Cook and stir constantly on high for a few minutes and add 2/3 C fresh lemon juice. Jams burn very easily so you must stir all the time.
Cook until the jam slides off a spoon. Fill pt mason jars to 1/2" put on lid and ring.Buy a funnel to make it easier to fill without spilling. Wipe the top of the jar as it will not seal properly if there is any jam on the rim. They will make pop sound when sealed.