Hey folks.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KellyM

Senior Cook
Well, first off, not to sound unfriendly, but I am only posting this so the danged message telling me to do so will go away. (I hope.) You'll all get to know me soon enough through my posts in the forums.

Anyhoo, as long as I'm at it, I'll tell you a bit about myself. I am not (nor do I wish to be) a professional chef. Way too much work. (However, if anyone asked me to be their personal chef, and offered me way too much money to do so, I'd have to give it some serious thought. I cook well enough that I could pull it off.)

So, you can think of me as being in the hobbyist cook category for now. I'll let you know if this changes.

I've been studying cooking on my own for many years now, and in fact have gotten to the point where I at least have enough hubris to think I have something to say that is worth listening to. Therefore I am now in the midst of writing a book about cooking. It is not a "cookbook" per se; the main thrust is not recipes, rather it is a book about cooking. How to organize your kitchen, what tools you might need, how to read a recipe, and so on.

I'll warn you up front, I am quite opinionated, and sure in those opinions. I learned almost nothing from my mother regarding cooking; almost everything I know I learned on my own through careful study and the application of logic. So, for instance, don't tell me I need to wash poultry before cooking it. An absurd concept!

However, I am always willing to learn, and in fact this is why I am here, as well as to do research for my book. So if you disagree with me, give me your best shot; I can take it, and will be grateful if you are right, because I will have learned something.

So, nice to meet you all, and let the games begin!

Kelly

P.S.