Santoku as chef's knife

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm a recent college grad and will be getting my first apartment rather soon. As such, I'm excited to start constructing (and filling) my kitchen. As I am a novice at best in the kitchen, I'm going to start with only the essentials, so I'm looking to get 3 knives: a primary chef's knife, a serated blade, and a smaller, more delicate blade.

It is the first, though, that I am preparing myself for at the moment, and my question is, how would a Santoku knife fair in place of a traditional chef's knife. I've seen a number of on-air chefs use them, and I like the looks and utility of the shape of the blade. Do many people use a Santoku as a chef's knife, or is it more of a situational thing? Does me being a beginner chef have an impact on the decision? In other words, would a Santoku style blade be a more practrical option with some more experience?

I plan on looking for a quality knife that will treat me well, and am prepared to spend a good bit of money on it. I want something that will last, will hold a good edge, and will aid me in the kitchen. I of course plan on testing before buying, as I'd imagine a great deal of this decision is personal preference, but any suggestions as to how a Santoku blade stacks up against a french style blade would be most appreciated.

Thank you.

Good morning Cyberslag,