Outdoor cooking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jim Dunne

Assistant Cook
Good morning, this is my first time using your forum.My question is: Our Boy Scout Troop has decided to try and cook a turkey during or November camping trip in new Hampshire. The Scouts want to cook it in a barrel, I have never seen this done and know of no one who could give me the details on how to Accomplish this task. Is there anyone out there that has or know of someone that has roast a turkey in a gailvinize barrel? If you do, would you be so kind as to send me this information as I hate to let the boys down.

Thank you
Jim Dunne

Hmmm. What they want and what is possible may be different. Is the barrel at the site or are you taking it there?
I think I would "cheat" a little and give yourself some insurance of success. Parboil that turkey before you go.
Then cut a door in the bottom of the barrel to add your coals to the "oven".
Make a cross of steel rods and suspend your turkey from it. You will need to get something like what is used to lift turkeys out of fryers--a support from the bottom of the bird (as it cooks, it would fall off off a plain hanger thing).
Build the first fire in the bottom, let it go to coals and suspend the bird--maybe half way down the barrel. Put a lid on it. You will need some holes in the top and bottom for air to get to the fire.
Replenish the fire as needed by having a fire outside that is burning down to coals. You do not want an active flame burning in your oven--it will be acrid smoke that will be unpleasant.
I think it might work. When the drumstick moves easily and the juices run clear from the thigh it is done. You might want to stick a little instant read thermometer in your pocket--test=180 in the thigh.

Don;t boil. Just put a layers of foil on the ground,