Dry beans in a pressure cooker

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

clemsontiger06

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone,

I'm an expatriate grad student living in Brazil and taking my first stab at cooking some famous Brazilian beans in a pressure cooker. I'm about 30 minutes into it (gonna let it cook for about 40 min), and just wanted to know if it's normal for steam to be hissing out from the top valve. It is fairly noisy, and I'm a little hesitante to get too close to it! :LOL:

Is this normal? Anyone have any tips for cooking dry beans in a pressure cooker?

I added about 500 grams of beans and a little more than 2 liters of water and it's cooking over an open-flame stove (sorry I'm a newbie :wacko: :) ).

Thanks, appreciate any help!

I would turn the heat down just a little bit, so it is not hissing to the extent that you are nervous.
Yes, I have cooked beans in a pressure cooker. It is normal for some hissing to occur.

Hissing is normal - but not a full-blown costant hiss - what type of pressure cooker do you have?

It is imperative that you put some oil in your beans while they cook. This oil keeps the foam down which prevents the steam valve from clogging. About 1 TBS per 2 cups of beans then addiitonal oil for more beans.

I'm not going to argue/defend this statement so don't anyone even try to say it's not true known fact. :mad: :angel:

So......what kind of pressure cooker do you have? Does it have a round weight on top that you turn to the different weights? Or is the pounds/pressure controlled by heat. Also, what brand do you have?

Wow thanks for the fast replies