Need help duplicating mom's recipe for fruit salad

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pjr

Assistant Cook
This is my first time here...hope I'm doing this right. I'm trying to duplicate a fruit salad made with whipping cream, dates, grapes,apples and nuts (and probably other fruit too). I don't think there was any mayonaise, sour cream, cream cheese or spices in it as mom was a basic midwestern cook. Any ideas on this? Do I put in vanilla or just add that to the whipped cream. Any ideas? I am a horrible cook, which is why I was asked to bring fruit salad...Thanks in advance.

Pj,
I'd just whip the cream with vanilla and sugar, then fold iti nto my cut fruit, a few minutes before serving.

kadesma:)

pjr said:
This is my first time here...hope I'm doing this right. I'm trying to duplicate a fruit salad made with whipping cream, dates, grapes,apples and nuts (and probably other fruit too). I don't think there was any mayonaise, sour cream, cream cheese or spices in it as mom was a basic midwestern cook. Any ideas on this? Do I put in vanilla or just add that to the whipped cream. Any ideas? I am a horrible cook, which is why I was asked to bring fruit salad...Thanks in advance.

My Grandma made one that had chopped green apples, chopped red apples, chopped celery, candied dates, quartered marischino cherries, chopped pecans, sliced bananas (that have been dipped in lemon juice) & mini marshmallows. Then she made the dressing for it (which I'm sure is different than what you're looking for, but since I'm on the subject....:rolleyes: ) a mix of sour cream, white sugar, mayo & marischino cherry juice. It was quite sweet & tasty!

Best of luck on your fruit salad!

I have this really easy fruit type salad called sunshine salad, if you want to try it.

Sunshine Salad

1 can peach pie filling
4.5 oz. cool whip
1 can sweetened condensed milk
½ cup lemon juice