Help: Rack of lamb

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

redrabbit

Assistant Cook
I'm cooking on saturday night for myself, my GF and her parents. I'm quite new to cooking and only know a few recipes, but I'm going to attempt to do a rack of lamb.

I was going to use 1 and a half racks of lamb. That would equal 12 cutlets, which would mean about 3 each - does that sound OK?

I am planning on serving this with mash with butter and cream. And also some roasted vegetables.

Couple of questions then:

1. Is 3 cutlets per person enough? We will be having a small starter too
2. What gravy would you serve with it - and how would this be made? Please keep this as simple as possible. I will be offering mint sauce too.

That's about it I think.

Thanks everybody.

I'd go with two racks, a half per person. It depends on the appetites of the dinner guests.

Add some roasted garlic to the mashed.

Are you planning to do anything to flavor the lamb?

olive oil and rosemary on the lamb? roasted or grilled to med rare, deglaze pan with strong stock and dry white wine, reduce and bind with butter, season with fine herbs s & p and swirl on the plate around the mash, place roasted veg in groups of 3 or 5 to one side and cut and arrange lamb up over the center mash.

For the lamb I'm going to make a mixture of:

Breadcrumbs, 2 cloves of garlic, crushed/juice of a lemon, and pepper.

I will spread some mustard over the lamb, and press the mixture on top of it.

Still not sure about the gravy though. Maybe I should just use a lamb stock cube.

2 racks of lamb = lots of £££££$$$$$ !!

:ohmy:

Breadcrumbs, 2 cloves of garlic, crushed/juice of a lemon, and pepper
I'd chop some rosemary into that mixture. :chef: