Perfect Breakfast for Mom

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shadeofpalms

Assistant Cook
Hey there.. I'm new, but I was hoping I could get some advice from some veteran cooks and menu planners..

My mother's turning 50 on saturday, but I'm unable to make it to her party that afternoon. So I was planning on making her a light, but preferably savory breakfast that morning to make up for my absence.

I already have one thing I really want to make.. Apricot Muffins. But after that I'm lost.

Does anyone have any ideas that would go along with this? I'm rather new at cooking, but I think I have a knack for it.. so if nothing else, I can try anything you've got.

But please.. it'd mean a lot to me. Thank you!

Hi, Shade... Welcome to DC.

What does Mom like for breakfast? Meats, eggs, waffles or pancakes, omlets, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea, what kind of juices?

She's not picky when it comes to breakfast.. when she actually finds the time to eat it. From quiche to pancakes, she's all over it.

Strictly from observation, though, I'd say she's a ham, pancakes, fruits and coffee kinda lady. Orange juice is always in the fridge.. but I swear she'll drink anything with the word 'juice' behind it.

I forget what it was that I found in there one day.. *shudders* But it had no right to be anywhere outside of the tropics.

Sounds to me like if she is a ham, pancakes, fruits and coffee kinda lady, sounds like a good start on a menu.

Welcome to DC.

Here is a dish that's a little more festive.

Spring Brunch Dutch Boy

There are several breakfast/brunch ideas here:

Breakfast & Brunch

Or - how about quiche or frittata, with fresh fruit or sliced tomatoes on the side? If it's not too early, Mimosas - OJ & Champagne.

Welcome to DC