How to make burritos for the freezer?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sunnysmile

Cook
I am becoming more interested in monthly cooking using my freezer for make-ahead meals. My kids love the frozen burritos from the store, and I figured I could probably make them cheaper. Does anyone know the correct technique for making them for the freezer? I would just make the burrito and put them out on a tray, freeze, and then bag after frozen solid. Is this sufficient or is there something else required? Anyone have experience with this? Thanks in advance....newbie here!

Hmm...I would think that you could wrap them each in foil, then in a freezer bag and pop them all in the freezer. I wouldn't think you need to pre-freeze them..(??)

I too think Pre-freezing would be un-necessary unless you are using a vacumn-sealer.. That is one thing you could consider for freshness. That is, using a sealer to lock in the freshness. Then, your children could Microwave them right out of the freezer..

sunnysmile said:
I would just make the burrito and put them out on a tray, freeze, and then bag after frozen solid.

Your burritos may end up tasting like the freezer. I would wrap them first then freeze them.

:) Im actually doing burittos today I make them and freeze them all the time as said before I make them and wrap in then put them in 1 gallon ziploc bags and freeze them I usually make about 80 at a time.HB loves them when you want one just take out of freezer take of foil wrap in a damp paper towel and microwave.If I plan on making smothered burittos I take them out in morning and let them thaw in refrigerator.
In a few days I will be making breakfast burittos as well.