Cooking With Wine

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Scott M.

Assistant Cook
I'm still relatively new to cooking, i've not cooked with any wine yet. I'm looking to try a couple recipies that call for red and white dry wine. can anyone recommend a good starter red / white wine to start with. and this might be a stupid question, but is this regular wine from the liquor store type wine? or is there a cooking wine that you can get at your local sobeys / superstore.

Thanks!

Always use a "real" wine. "Cooking Wine", is salty and totally useless in cooking. Use any wine that you drink. Doesn't have to be an expensive bottle. There are sooo many table wines out there. Buy something you like. I constantly use wine to de-glaze my pans even when the actual "recipe" doesnt call for wine as an ingredient.

Have fun cooking with wine.

If you do not drink, just fallow the recipe. Or whenyou are in the liquer(gee I don't even know how to spell liquor, darn) anyway, when you are in one of those stores, not super store. Tell the sales person what youneed. They will be able to help you. I personaly do not cook with dry wines, do not like the taste. I use sweet wines and it works for me, not to say that it is true recipe, but i like it.

Sounds good.

I do drink, just not wine :).

i'll hit the liquor store and interogate em!

Thanks again.
S

When in your regular grocery store, check around for individual servings of wine, packaged like this ----->
img_460477_0_e3ec89bb47548c628edecc59c41a10d0.jpg

Last edited:
Consider box wine. There are several good quality box wines that will last for a long time as it is in an airless environment.

Merlot for a red is good because it is not too oaky and is low in tannins which can effect the flavor of a dish.

A sauvignon blanc or pinot grigio is good for white wine to cook with.