Convert gingerBREAD recipe into gingerbread COOKIES?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BluePlate

Assistant Cook
Hi All,

Season's greetings! I hope this finds everyone well.

I have been making the same gingerbread cookie recipe for the last several years, and I'd like to try something a bit new.

I recently saw a recipe for the Grammercy Tavern Gingerbread Stout Cake and the reviews I have read simply rave about it.

Is there any way to convert a gingerbread (cake) recipe into a recipe for gingerbread cookies?

The cookies will be given to adults, not kids...

Thanks for any thoughts/advice/help! Best to you,

Can you post the recipe you would like to use so we can help you trouble shoot it? Also, I know I posted a soft gingerbread cookie recipe on here some time ago. If you do an advanced search with gingerbread/title only and my user name you might find what you're looking for. Good luck.

Hi Alix,

Thanks for your note - I tried to post a link to the recipe on Epicurious, Guinness Stout Ginger Cake from the Grammercy Tavern Cookbook, but I am not permitted to post a URL.

I apologize I don't know the etiquette for quoting recipes, so I will just put in the main ingredients that I think might affect the ratios for cake to cookies:

Liquids and Fats
1 C Stout
1 C Molasses
3/4 C Oil
3 Eggs

Leavening
1/2 TBS Baking soda
1+1/2 tsp Baking powder

Dry
1 C Total sugars
2 C Flour
1+3/4 tsp spices
1 TBS more spices

If you have any ideas, I'd be grateful!

Thanks again, and I hope all's well. Cheers,
:)