Bean Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hello all! I was recently diagnoised Diabetic. This book I have is just another example of someone telling me that beans would help. I also have heart disease and need fiber among other things. It's not that I have not been trying. Man I have been trying to make bean dishes. Here is my one problem. When I make them.... it sucks. No really. I am a good cook. I just have not had any luck with beans. Anyone have any good recipe to try that they love?

You talking green beans Michael or the cannelini/butter/kidney etc beans?

If you have heart disease as well as diabetes, do you also have to monitor your potassium levels?

Not sure where to start with recipes. Being Indian I cook with a dozen different types of beans. I am not sure how adventurous you are but here are few recipes that I think should work out well.

Chickpea Curry: It's not strong and is extremely aromatic and you can eat it with rice or any type of flat bread. Give it a try:

Canned Chickpeas (2 large cans) - rinse them well, drain and reserve
1 large onion finely chopped - Reserve about a tbsp of it for later use
2 tsp of cumin seeds, 1 stick of cinnamon and 3 whole cloves
2 jalapeno peppers seeded and diced (you can use less if you don't like it spicy)
4 cloves of garlic
1/4 stick of ginger
2 tsp of corrainder powder
tsp of lime juice
2 tsp of paprika
1 large tomato finely diced - reserve a tbsp of it for later use
cilantro for garnish
salt to taste
1 tbsp of oil - any kind will work
2 cups of water