Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums

Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums (http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/)
-   New Member Introductions! (http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   From someone who likes to dabble in the kitchen... (http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f6/from-someone-who-likes-to-dabble-in-the-kitchen-41892.html)

cheriturn 01-10-2008 05:11 PM

From someone who likes to dabble in the kitchen...

Hello everyone! I found this site while doing a search on Flavorwave vs Nuwave ovens! (I have a Flavorwave and just saw an infomercial for the NuWave and was curious if there was a difference.) I am a kitchen gadget junkie, I guess you could say. My stepdaughter flipped out when she saw me use a special v-shaped tool to cut the top off a watermelon - to use it as a boat for fruit salad!

I love to cook, but I'm a lazy chef. If it has too many ingredients, or takes hours and hours, forget it! I also get frustrated because I live in a small rural town (in the midwest) and many ingredients for recipes I see on TV (like Rachel Ray's show) are just not available around here - grrrrr! This forum looks like a lot of fun - I've been exploring the small appliances area and see a LOT of interesting threads. I look forward to participating here!

Barb L. 01-10-2008 05:27 PM

Welcome to DC Cheriturn, this is a great forum, enjoy and nice to have you join us ! BarbL.

auntdot 01-10-2008 06:29 PM

Welcome to DC Cheri.

I am a recovering kitchen gizmo-aholic. Finally learned that there are a limited number of tools that I need to cook.

And I can sit through most infomercials and only have to suppress myself a bit to keep from dialing the 800 number.

Last purchase: the shark knife sharpener. Now I have a great knife sharpening systen, different hones and a gadget that lets me set the angles. This is not a gizmo, it is a real knife sharpening tool.