Decorating Sugar Cookies...some questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

skiweaver9

Assistant Cook
I am kinda new to the decorating world, I can do nice cakes with shells etc etc but am lost when it comes to sugar cookies. I want to decorate some cookies, and i want them to look GOOD (AND taste good). I dont know which kind of icing to use, however.
I know buttercream tastes good, but they don't stack well, and frankly, look more messy (at least when i do it).
I hear royal icing looks great, but hardens a lot....and doesn't taste good either? That wouldn't be good.
I hear of run sugar....but i dont know what that is.
And fondant looks great, but i hear tastes horrible. I want people to be able to EAT the cookies!!

Secondly, I am at a loss as to whether i should stick to my Wilton Decorator Pro, or should switch to regular decorating bags...which is easier??

Lastly, can anyone recommend some good books with pictures of cookies etc? I can follow pictures well if I have them. Im not good at coming up with creations myself. LOL.

Sometimes I just put colored sugar right on the cookie before I bake, no frosting.
As for frosting, I use powdered sugar a teeny bit of milk, and almond extract. I also use the almond in the cookies instead of vanilla. Makes 'em taste a little more special? My mouth gets bored easily. I cant tell you how thick to make it, I just eyeball it. I wouldn't get it too runny though, that I can say. then food coloring in a few batches of the frosting. Mine look better than my kids do! Ha!