Questions About Culinary Apprenticeships

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ManedWolf

Assistant Cook
I graduated from culinary school around a year ago and have been working in a local restaurant for a year. I am looking to move my skills to the next level and want to become an apprentice so that I may obtain Red Seal Certification. I wanted to pose a couple of questions to the forums to see if I can get any insight regarding the qualities and expectations a Chef would have of an Apprentice.
I can tell you that since culinary school i have been excited more and more by working in the industry. I have helped out at lots of catering events on my time off just to get the experience working with different foods and cooking styles. Every time I've done those events I have been more and more excited.
I believe a hotel setting would be the best for developing my skills in different areas and it is a position in one that I am pursuing.
So my questions are basically:

What are your expectations of an apprentice and what are some concerns a chef or employer might consider?

Is a hotel setting the best environment for developing wide ranging skills?

Is there something that I can do to show that I am motivated and a good investment to a chef?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Also if there is anything unclear in what I have said above please don't hesitate to ask me for clarification.

Having been a culinary student I would expect you to know the vocabulary, the techniques of cooking, of guarde manger, have knife skills, and be able to ask for clarification when unsure.

I would expect you to be able to use your senses of taste and smell to assist your other senses, and to tell the difference between salt and sugar.

I would expect you to know and practice the basics of sanitation and food safety.