Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums

Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums (http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/)
-   Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements (http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f29/)
-   -   Spell Checker Function (http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f29/spell-checker-function-46238.html)

Andy M. 05-17-2008 10:22 PM

Spell Checker Function
 
Just a reminder to all members that there is a spell checking function available in the Reply message box. It's in the upper right corner of the message box.

All you have to do is click on the Check Spelling icon after typing a reply and it will review your reply for errors and suggest corrections just as in other software such as MS Word and others. After spell checking, you can post the reply in the same manner.

Give it a try. You too can have posts free of those pesky spelling errors that plague our posts.

pdswife 05-17-2008 10:25 PM

oh wow! I never knew that! NEAT!!!!!

pacanis 05-17-2008 10:27 PM

Thancks!
:wink:

Andy M. 05-17-2008 10:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pacanis (Post 608188)
Thancks!
:wink:


Ummm. Did I mention it's available right now?

Maverick2272 05-17-2008 11:09 PM

I didn't know there was anything to click on, mine just underlines in red words that I misspeel, LOL. I did notice though that a lot of cooking terms don't seem to show up as understood by the program. Like au gratin or thai for example, but I just click on 'add to dictionary' and it recognizes them.
Just have to make sure I actually spelled it right before doing that! ;) jalepeno is one that I have not figured out how to spell right the first time ever, and unless I get it very close the first time, the program can't even give me a suggestion on spelling.
Spelled as above I get suggestions such as dependable, dependably, penologist, penologies, and penology's.
Was there something I turned on that made it available automatically?

quicksilver 05-17-2008 11:10 PM

I never noticed that either. Are you implying something?

GB 05-17-2008 11:10 PM

Are you using Firefox Mav?

Maverick2272 05-17-2008 11:12 PM

Yup! Is that what did it? Its Firefox's spell checker and not DC's?

GB 05-17-2008 11:13 PM

Yeah Firefox is smart enough to have a spell checker built in unlike inferior browsers :lol:

Maverick2272 05-17-2008 11:15 PM

Well that is good, cause in the upper right hand corner of my reply box is a button to switch editor modes, I can't find a button to spell check anywhere.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.