Gas stove/electric?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vermae

Assistant Cook
I have been bakeing box cakes for years in my gas stove .Now I have and electric and my cakes are a flop.They start out high and soon they almost come flat as a pancake and rubbery.The box says bake at 375% .Is it the same for electric.Should I throw my spatular in the garbage and buy store brought cake?Please help me .:ohmy:

375* is 375*....Gas or Electric....I think the first thing to do is buy an oven thermometer...a pretty good one....Set your oven on 375* with the thermometer inside...after the oven is up to temperature....see what the oven thermometer says!
This may answer a lot of questions...if your oven is cooking "hot" then maybe a service technician could solve your problem..,,,

I have been cooking and baking on electric stoves for 45 years and I've never had anything fail. I suspect you may have a problem with the temperature. Have it checked before you bake anything else, Electric and gas temps register the same.

Assuming everything else is the same (pans, pan size, mixing, etc.) the problem with cakes falling/sinking is usually due to the oven not being preheated long enough, too low of oven temp, or undercooking.

Like Uncle Bob suggested - get a good oven thermometer and check to see what your oven temp actually is - not just what the knob says. My favorite is the Taylor Commercial Oven Guide Thermometer - a wet bulb thermometer that doesn't need calibrating - and you can find most places without a problem ... you can get them for $15 at Target.

375* is 375*....Gas or Electric....I think the first thing to do is buy an oven thermometer...a pretty good one....Set your oven on 375* with the thermometer inside...after the oven is up to temperature....see what the oven thermometer says!