First time with a rotissarie - help, please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

74STL

Assistant Cook
I bought a grill from Sam's club a few weeks ago. It has a infrared burner, as well as a rotissarie. I've never cooked anything with a rotissarie before and would like to start with chicken. I'm wondering how long would I need to cook the chicken? Is there some rule of thumb... so many minutes per pound for example. What should the internal temp. of the cooked chicken be? I'm guessing that I should put a drip pan underneath it so I don't get grease all over my new grill. I hope that I didn't jump the gun and go overboard-- I bought a 6.5 lb. bird.

Thanks for any help.

Welcome to DC.

I have no experience with an infrared. Does the owner's manual give any info on cooking times?

My FIL recently bought a grill with an infrared burner - it's a side burner. We grilled pineapple on it, and it was done much faster than it would have been on the regular burners. Is your infrared a side burner?

re: the rotisserie, I'm not sure I would have started with that big a bird. It will take more time to cook than a 3-4 lb. chicken, so the outside might get more done that you want by the time the inside is done. An instant-read thermometer in the thigh (not touching the bone) should read 160* for it to be done.

When I do a wine-can (variation on beer-can) chicken, I use a 3.5-lb. or so bird and it takes 1 to 1 and a quarter hours to roast it in the grill, so you would need to increase your time accordingly. HTH.