asking for help about seasoned wok

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cvera

Assistant Cook
hi, this is the first time i am using carbon steel wok. and I follow the instruction, try to have that black cover on it by seasoning. But my seasoning is not done very good enough, so some area is brown yellow, some area is black. but it is really impossible for me to make the whole 14''wok black with wood handel which can't taken down ...after the seasoning when i am cooking...I use stainless steel truner(is this the right word), and then sometimes i could see there is some small black and yellow thing in my dish. I know that is from the cover because some area of the cover
is not intact...
so what should i do? is that normal? and i am not even sure whether it is safe to eat my dish...
sorry for my english...I am an International student who just move to america...

does that have anything to do with the fact that I like to add some water even stirfly because i don't want food to get burned, and also after i wash the wok, I always wipe it with some vegetable oil...i am worried that it will get rusty, because the cover is not intact..

Sorry, I can't really follow what you are asking....

I can tell you that I bought a carbon steel wok years ago, the one advertised on TV all the time as "hand hammered by the Chinese". I don't remember seasoning it. I simply remember it developing that black seasoned look from use. Washing it out was simply using that bamboo scraper thingy that came with it and hot water, then wiping a little oil in it.

Hope that's kinda what you're after

thanks for your reply! I feel quite desparate about it.