Barley Risotto

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hyperpotato

Assistant Cook
I've been buying this "quick" barley as a rice substitute. I typically make it like rice with beef broth. This stuff has risoto written all over it. I googled it, but I get a lot of conflicting recipes. Any one actually make this, and if so please tell me how?

Risotto is nothing more than short-grained rice that gets creamy and starchy when cooked. Barley will not get creamy and starchy as it is a grain. You could very easily make it however you want. Add some sauteed, blanced, grilled, or roasted vegetables, seafood, lemon, parmesan cheese, whatever you want. Just know that it is not risotto and never will be. A perfectly acceptable dish CAN be made from it though!

I don't know, you me be right based on all the conflicting stuff I've read. I consider my self an expert rice cooker, but I'm new to making risoto. It cooks exactly like rice, but it's twice the size, so it seems to me that you could make a really juicy risoto with it?

Kitchenelf is exactly right. Risotto gets creamy because of the starch that comes out in the cooking process. That will not happen with barley. It can still be a delicious meal, but it will not be the same as risotto. There are plenty of recipes out there that will call their dish risotto, but like the saying that has been getting so much play lately goes, you can put lipstick on a pig, but it is still a pig.

Yeah, but I'm looking, not for the creamyness that risoto has, but where the rice grains absorb alot of liquid. I would like to the same with barley.

Sorry. I have not been clear, good discussion though. I would like to make barley risto style. There are 1 million recipes on google and they all contradict one another. I guess what I'm getting out is I would like a recipe to cook barley, analogous to risoto?

Thanks