Chicken Alfredo Cooking Methods. Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BbPassion

Assistant Cook
Hi, i am new to Dc. I'm currently taking culinary classes to help me improve my skills in becoming a chef. my culinary class has a final in which we have to come up with a dish or come up with our own interpretation of a existing dish. I decided to do chicken Alfredo but with my own methods that i thought would work; Ill give you my methods and why i think it will work. What i want is for the more experienced cooks here to give me any constructive criticism.

For the pasta I'm making it fresh, using a basic pasta dough. I know potatoes goes will go will with the chicken and the sauce; so i thought why not incorporate potatoes in the pasta? ill incorporate it by boiling them then passing them through a potato ricer then adding it to the mix when i make the dough. Ill only add a small amount of potatoes so it doesn't totally take away from the pasta.

The chicken of was thinking of browning them in some olive oil, then finishing them off in the oven.

For the sauce i found one here on the Dc that a member posted that i liked.
Here's how I make mine at work:

Place a saute pan over HIGH heat (commercial stovetop, double the BTU output of a home stove, so be advised). While the pan is still "cold", add about 2 T of clarified butter. Heat. Add some minced garlic. Shake and toss the pan until the garlic is fragrant. Deglaze with a little white wine. Add heavy cream, about 1 1/2 c. Bring to a boil. Reduce until thickened. Add about 1/4 c shredded parmesan cheese. Toss or stir to combine and melt the cheese. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Ill finish of the pasta by adding in some fresh basil.

Please let me know what you guys think. also if you have any suggestion to accompany my dish such as a salad etc, feel free to say so.

Thank You

Oh boy, I'm gonna blush.....