Best way to make tempura?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kii

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone. I am new here. I was looking up information on crab legs the other day (I wanted to know the taste difference between snow, king, and dungeness crabs) and came across this site. I am a busy college student with a bartending job and don't have a lot of time to cook, but lately I have been spending too much money on eating out.

Anyways before I tell my life story, I just wanted to know a good tempura recipe. I have made it a few times already, but they always come out different for some reason. I bought a different flour and it made it kind of doughy and chewy instead of crispy. And also, am I supposed to use the entire egg or just the yolk/white? How thick should the batter be?

Basically (tempura batter)

1/2 cup All Purpose or Rice flour
1/2 cup cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 egg
2/3 cup ice cold soda water (club soda)

Sift the dry ingredients together in one bowl.

In a larger bowl - beat the egg and then add the club soda and stir to combine.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir just enough to combine.

Dip your food in the batter and deep fry.

I think the rice flour makes it lighter and crisper - but AP will work just fine.

Last edited:
Whats the difference between the all purpose flour, enriched/self rising, bleached, baking, etc. flour? It's confusing to me. Which is best for frying?

There are many versions of Tempura batter so I guess each to his own, as Michael says, the cold water is most important. If you use straight Rice flour you will be making a gluten free batter that is hard to use as it 'sets' almost immediately so I would stick to the AP flour personally then add the Corn starch, baking soda and the baking powder [which I don't think is necessary] the baking powder that is.