Yeast bread help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

docpat

Assistant Cook
I just "discovered" this site, and must say, I like what I see. I have been a regular contributor to several other foodie sites and hope to become a regular here too. Although not professionally trained, with all due modesty, over the past twenty plus years I have become an accomplished yeast bread baker and would like to offer my experience and expertise to answer any questions readers may have in that area. If I know the answer I will tell you. If not I will make one up....Just kidding. Pizza, breads, rolls, bagels, pretty much any questions dealing with yeast products, I will try to help with. I do not mean to sound cocky, its just that I have a lot of experience and love teaching and helping others. I also have experience with cookies. Anyway, if I can help, just let me know and I will do my best.

docpat,

Welcome to DiscussCooking. I would give anything to be an accomplished bread baker!!!!! Ciabatti is one of my favorites - and a good baguette!!!!!!!!

If I want to make pizza at home what is a good, basic dough. Also, I have had pizza with a whole wheat dough - do you have a recipe for that too? I will take any information you can give me.

Thanks for offering your expertise. Now, let me offer my expertise - I will try ANYTHING you make!!!! :D :p

Bread baking, in fact, the creation of any yeast dough product, is the magical blending of both art and science. Whereas cooking is the art of combining flavors and textures, baking is all that plus chemistry. Once you learn the "rules and reasons why" things happen, a wondrous door opens before you, and only your imagination and the laws of chemistry will limit you.