Smoking Turkeys

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nicahawk

Assistant Cook
On the edge of the South Central Kansas rolling Re
I pulled the smoker out, gave her a good wash job, got her leveled, and ready to go.:)

It's been a Thanksgiving tradition for me, and I've been doing it for several years now, to smoke several turkeys and chickens right before the holidays. Last year I smoked 10 turkeys and 6 chickens. What we don't plan to freeze we give to our kids and a couple neighbors, and donate to our local Hospice House and our Church.

It looks like this year I'm going to max it out......14 turkeys and as many chickens as I can stuff in there.

I'll keep the pictures coming as we get smokin! :chef:

Attachments

• Smoker '08  (600 x 450).jpg
    Smoker '08 (600 x 450).jpg
    139.3 KB · Views: 247
I started smoking Thanksgiving Turkey two years ago with alot of help from the people here. Now, my family wants one every year. It'll be fun.

That is a nice lookin smoker you got there! I wished I had the tools and knowledge to smoke stuff. My dad was always smoking brisket. Can't wait to see the pics!!!

Ummmm... maybe I will have you send me a turkey!!! :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Depending on which part of the state you live in.....could almost drive it down!

I started smoking Thanksgiving Turkey two years ago with alot of help from the people here. Now, my family wants one every year. It'll be fun.

I think I smoked my first turkey when I lived in East Tennessee. Once people get a taste of it, it's hard to go back to just reg turkey cooked in the oven. We use a lot of the frozen turkey in salads, soups, and just sandwiches thru out the year.

That is a nice lookin smoker you got there! I wished I had the tools and knowledge to smoke stuff. My dad was always smoking brisket. Can't wait to see the pics!!!