Crunchy fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jamxz19

Assistant Cook
I was trying to make sweet and sour fish. I used cornflour to coat the fish before deep frying it. but i was not able to cover the fish properly with the flour. I though I didnt feel anything different even though i added the corn flour as mentioned in the recipe.

any ideas folks?

thanks in advacnce.

Hey Jam. Welcome. Give me the recipe. Just the basics. Wet Soak? Dry Mix? Temp of Oil? What you are doing for Sweet and Sour? And where are you in the process?

Last edited:
Hey Jam. Welcome. Give me the recipe. Just the basics. Wet Soak? Dry Mix? Temp of Oil? What you are doing for Sweet and Sour? And where are you in the process?

Thank you for replying. I am very new to this whole cooking thing ;)
Yeah the recipe says to coat the fish with the flour in a shopping bag. I did that but i thought it didnt coat well for some reasons.I took the fish straight out of the fridge. Could this be the reason?

No Egg/Milk/Seasoning dredge? Not that it is real important, but how old are you? Have been in your shoes, my mom was a horrible cook when I was younger. I figured I could not do any worse.

Nah no egg or milk. Just the fish and the flour. I like to think i did ok with the sauce part though.

I am 26 now.

Been there. It is trial and error. Did you fry all the fish? There is nothing to bind the corn flour to the fish. There is no way I know of to fix it if it is already been fried. Do you have more fish? How much fish are we talking about, and what kind?

Last edited:
Yeah I still have some fish left. could use your advice I guess.

Bowling, if he already fried the fish, I would just throw it out, and start over. How much fish are you talking about, and what kind?