New to cooking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheProphecy

Assistant Cook
Hi, i'm new to cooking and I wanted to know the basics of cooking such as the utensils and precautions. May anyone tell me some, please? Thanks :)

What type of untensils are you looking for?????

Precations:

1. BE CAREFUL NOT TO BURN YOURSELF.

to be continued.

What's your budget? We can recommend all sorts of things but if you only have a couple hundred or less, it won't do you much good. There are certainly basics that everyone uses, but my basics might not be someone elses.

1. What do you want to cook?
2. Do you have favorite foods you want to learn?
3. What do you know how to cook?
4. Cooking or baking? Which do you want to do more of?

Maybe if you can give us some guidelines, it might help us tell you what you want.

The Basics:

• pots and pans
  • set of knives
  • cutting board
  • kitchen utensils -- large spoon, spatula, whisk, scrapers, etc.
Good to Have:

• casserole dishes
  • roasting pans
  • baking pans
  • kitchen timer
  • instant-read cooking thermometer
  • mixing bowls
  • colander
  • strainers
You don't need to buy it all at once, and you should put off buying things like an electric mixer or food processor until you have the other stuff and are sure you want to get more involved with the kitchen.

Also, get a good basic cookbook. I suggest something with photos, a wide variety of recipes, and step-by-step instructions, such as the recently published Taste of Home Winning Recipes.

Then watch some cooking shows, read the food section of your paper, and come here with your questions. Don't be afraid to ask about anything -- we all started by figuring out how to boil water.