Save seeds to replant for next year?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liz Brooks

Assistant Cook
Can you keep seeds from your veggies to replant next year? This is my first year with an herb garden and I popped in some peppers too. They are all doing wonderfully. Can I keep the seeds and replant? Do I need to do something special to them over the winter?

I just get new seeds or already started plants each year..It's easier and I know just what I'm going to get.
kadesma

Liz - you can certainly save seeds for next year. You just need to be sure that they're mature, completely dry, & stored in an airtight container in a relatively cool, dry place (like a spare-room closet - no attic; no garage).

However, that said, do keep in mind that depending on the type/variety of plant - as in whether it's a hybrid or not - some or all may not grow true to the parent plant(s). That doesn't mean that you won't get delicious useful plants from the saved seed, just that they may not be exactly the same as the plants that produced the seed.

Yes you can...
The most important things that come to mind is make sure that the seeds you want to save are fully dried.Marked,and stored as airtight as you can get them.
Something else about cross pollinating plants, (not intentionally) Just planted too closely.You won't have the same pepper plant that you had this year.
If you've planted more then one variety that is.If not no worries :)

I'm sure you could use a dehydrator with the special sheets to dry them as well.

This link might help ya..Good luck.

Save Your Seeds! How-To Directions | Healthy and Green Living

Munky.