Hello from Buckeye Nation

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SubwayScriptures

Assistant Cook
Hello!

I'm a college student at THE Ohio State University who just moved in and his own kitchen for the first time.

I'm not an absolute klutz around the kitchen, but would definitely appreciate any tips/recipes that you guys had to help me out and get me past Ramen and PBJ's.

Anyone should feel free to PM me or friend request(?) me.

Kind regards

Howdy back at you....LOL, I always thought it was funny having the emphasis on THE, but that's the way it is pronounced!

What kind of cooking do you like to do?

Yea there's a lot of pride here so people like to really let others know the importance of Ohio State.

I love grilling, but b/c of my apartment (and the weather) that's not really an option.

I have a rice cooker with a steam tray for rice and veggies. Also I want to do more skillet/pan cooking, but I dont really have too much experience with that.

Don't knock ramen! Most people don't know what they are doing with them. Ramen is a soup BASE! You are supposed to add a bunch of stuff to it. Break an egg in the water while its cooking. Add steamed veggies! Cut up some leftover KFC and add it to the pot.

Also, we will help you work on other things. I just didn't want you to throw ramen away.

Hello back at you! I just joined today too. I was born in Toledo, OH so you're like a little piece of home calling to me (I'm living in North Carolina right now, working my way through grad school).

I agree about adding things to the ramen. You will be amazed at how that changes the entire character of those little noodles. Many fancy-schmancy Japanese restaurants serve ramen with steamed veggies and an egg and slices of roast pork....and charge 10$ for it!