Pork shoulder question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

legend_018

Head Chef
I always forget these kind of things and I think I did a goof. : (.

I bought a bone IN smoked and brined pork shoulder from a local farm.
It's about 4.5 lbs. Next Sunday I want to cook this for fathers day. I think there will be approximately 8 adults there.

Did I end up buying enough?

I'm not an expert on that kind of thing, but I would say no, unless you find a way to extend it. What about making scalloped potatoes with cubed ham in it? Or cubed ham in macaroni and cheese? Or slice it really thin for sandwiches along with potato salad, etc.?

:)Barbara

If you cook it enough so you can shred it,and serve on a bun about the size of a burger it should work, then have a mac or potato salad or both,sliced tomatos and cucumbers some beans or acratch the mac salad and make a large mac and cheese Oh and pass bbq sauce to go over the pork sandwiches I'd suggest getting a platter and set up already filled buns, it saves on people over filling with the meat and then leaving it and shorting someone else.
kadesma

If you cook it enough so you can shred it,and serve on a bun about the size of a burger it should work, then have a mac or potato salad or both,sliced tomatos and cucumbers some beans or acratch the mac salad and make a large mac and cheese Oh and pass bbq sauce to go over the pork sandwiches I'd suggest getting a platter and set up already filled buns, it saves on people over filling with the meat and then leaving it and shorting someone else.
kadesma