Thank you for welcoming me into this community

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zfranca

Senior Cook
As I timidly stepped my foot into the door with a short introduction, I would like to add some more information about myself.
I was a chef-owner for 12 years, the best and most productive years of my life. So I thought….
The restaurant was my life and my home. I loved it so much that I could hardly wait to run down the stairs into the cool and clean kitchen, every morning, after breakfast and exercise with my husband (we have no children). Opening to the public at 6: PM gave me all the afternoon to prepare the foods necessary to please my limited number of customers.
I pleased their palate, their sight and their spirit. I usually referred to my charming place as the little rose in desert.
To maintain its beauty and fragrance it required much care and attention. As it grew, it required more and more time and dedication. Many times, my husband had to interrupt his demanding metal engraving work to come at my rescue.
Emergencies were occurring more often than usual. It was a difficult but necessary action to cut the stem of the delicate flower. Franca’s Italian Dining does no longer exist but the little rose in the desert will remain beautiful for ever, to the people who dined there.
In 2001 my husband and I made the final decision to close doors and move to Zihuatanejo (Southern Pacific coast of Mexico), where we had spent time vacationing years earlier.
It was not easy to gear up to a new life style but it was exciting. I discovered new interests and maintained my passion for cooking at the same time. I have learned to operate a computer, a machete, to surf-fish, to cook with chiles, to play chess, a new language, and had enough time to write my memoir/cookbook.