Learning to Cook In Thailand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dbingham

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone,
My name is Daniel Bingham. I'm a computer programmer, science geek and foodie currently teaching Science in Thailand. I work at a school in Phuket Town on the island of Phuket where I teach science to 12-14 year olds in the school's English immersion program.

I've been here for three to four months and I have to admit - I'm getting sick of Thai food. I'm starting to desperately miss some of the comforts of home I'd almost come to take for granted. Good cheese, good milk, good yogurt, good wine, good bread. All are almost completely missing from the market place here. And having moved from the upstate New York town of Saratoga, I was used to very good all of the above from a couple of excellent local farmer's markets.

On the upside I'm learning to cook with new ingredients and getting to experience a new food culture, which is a wonderful experience to have under one's belt. The markets here are all outdoor farmer's markets - every day, all day and well into the night. I can walk a couple of blocks down the road and get wonderful fresh tomatoes - picked the same day - for the equivalent of $0.50 a kilogram.

Cooking has been a challenge here though, not just because certain staples from home are missing, but also because I'm currently living in a studio apartment with a kitchenette that consists of a hot plate and sink. Definitely not optimal. Hopefully I'll be able to move somewhere that has a better equipped kitchen sometime in the near future. But in the mean time, I'm having to get creative to keep my stomach satisfied. For that reason, I'll have plenty of questions for the community here in regards to how to cook when using unfamiliar ingredients and crammed into a tiny under-equipped kitchen.