Casserole

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Enrique3

Assistant Cook
I'm a bit of a beginner to cooking and I like doing casseroles as they're easy and quick to prepare but I'm looking for tips to improve. I usually use steak or pork and chicken or beef gravy and throw in whatever veg is available, usually mushrooms, onions, carrotts, garlic etc. but sometimes the gravy overpowers the rest of the flavours and sometimes the veg at the top gets overdone. When is the best time to season and to throw the veg in and what's the best way to get the meat nice and tender, I don't usually bother browning it. Also, I usually cook it for about 90-120 mins on about 150-180, any guidelines on that? Thanks

Casseroles are usually made with cooked meats. If you use raw meat, the veggies and starch will be overcooked by the time the meat is done. In addition, by skipping the browning step, you give up a lot of flavor.

To keep the veggie from drying out and to speed up cooking, cook the casserole covered either with a lid or foil. If browning on the top is part of the deal, take the cover off for the last 10-15 minutes or so.

I make a lot of casseroles and one dish meals. I can't think of a casserole that I make using raw ingredients. For instance:

I'll boil one or two chicken thighs in onion soup (mix). Take out the chicken and cool. Bring the soup mix back to a boil, adding water and salt if necessary and use that to boil egg noodles along with a half cup of mixed vegetables.

When the chicken has cooled enough, strip from the bones and cut into bite size pieces.

When the noodles and vegetables are done, strain over a bowl so as to save the liquid for an excellent stock. I usually freeze this for gravy liquid or the base for cooking dried beans. Lots of flavor.