Help me start brewing beer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GB

Chief Eating Officer
I am ready to start brewing beer. I have never done it before and don't know where to start or what I need. My wife wants to buy me the stuff to get started, but knows even less about it than I do. Can anyone tell me exactly what I need for the basics and maybe sources where we can get the stuff? Any hints and advice would always be welcome too. Thanks.

I don't know anything about it but good luck. What kind of beer are you thinking about? I have a friend that does his own IPA.

I like darker beers like stouts and porters, but also enjoy a good IPA or other ales. Lagers and Pilsners could be fun too. Who am I kidding, I will brew any type I can ;)

I like darker beers like stouts and porters, but also enjoy a good IPA or other ales. Lagers and Pilsners could be fun too. Who am I kidding, I will brew any type I can ;)

All beer isn't the same, but that doesn't mean they aren't all good eh?

As my FIL says when I ask him what kind of beer he wants..."doesn't matter as long as it's cold".

Thanks PF.

If you were in Missoula, I know exactly where I would send you for help. We have lots of really good microbreweries around here and there is at least one that lets you use their equipment to brew and bottle your own.:)

There is a place down the street called Deja Brew. I thought they sold brewing equipment so DW went down today, but turns out they re a brew on premises place. All these years of passing by and I never knew. DW said she was the only sober one there.

I brewed it for a few years. I found that the products tasted very yeasty. Some kits were OK, but it is a lot of work. Maybe I never set myself up well enough. I still have all of the gear in the basement. My wife made me stop because it made me fart a lot:ermm:.:ROFLMAO:

Last edited: