Should the cake have risen more?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Twimum

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone,

I just made the Chocolate and Almond cake from Julia Child's book (the cake was also shown in the movie Julie & Julia). Now that I've taken it out of the oven I've noticed that it really didn't rise much. There is almond meal mixed in with the flour so I'm assuming that would mean the cake wouldn't rise that much. I used Self Raising Flour as stated in the recipe, but it was the 'cake/biscuit/pastry' self raising flour rather than usual SR flour. Wondering if I've stuffed it up or whether cakes with almond meal generally don't rise too much. I should mention too that in the middle I got that 'peak' with a crack :blush:. By now you've probably figured out I have very little experience with cakes :blush:

Any help or advice for next time is much appreciated.

Thanks! Yes I thought it was quite brave of me :LOL: I'm pretty good with regular meals but cakes I usually just buy from a patisserie.

Do you mean to say that you peeked at the cake while it was baking? Don't peek at a cake until it has been in the oven for at least 20 minutes. It can flatten your cake. It's really best to just leave it alone until the baking time is complete. But I am guessing that the almond flour probably also had something to do with the lack of height.

I know this cake well - I've made it many times.

The Reine de Saba or Queen of Sheba cake, is moist, dense, chocolatey, and only about an inch or an inch and a half high. It's almost creamy in the center.

The only thing I'd worry about with that crack, is whether you cooked it too long. The key to its creamy dense interior is to pull it out when it's just barely baked - almost, but not quite, underbaked. ANY chocolate cake starts to lose flavor if it's overbaked.

Just cover it in sweetened whipped cream, and serve it proudly.