I've got soupy pie!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MyNyssa

Assistant Cook
I'm new to the cooking world :chef:. I bought some sweet potatoes at Wal-mart about a week and a half ago. Tonight I made some sweet potato fries that came out okay, most were burnt (I think I used too much olive oil). I figured I had 2 left so I used one SP to make a sweet potato pie. I followed the directions and when I poured the mixture into the pie pan, it had the consistency of soup. It said to mix until smooth but I don't think this is what it meant??? The one thing that made it so soupy was when I added the milk 1/2 cup of milk, I think I should have used dry/powdered milk? I'm not sure and since I haven't been in the world of cooking I don't know if it's right or if I could have done something to make it better. It's got about 20 more minutes in the oven...I don't want to be disappointed. :( Any suggestions or tip on what I could have done or what I did wrong?
Thank you for your time

I don't know, just took it out. Scared to cut into it. I'll post in another 15 minutes or so...when I get the courage to cut into it!