School curriculum

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Claire

Master Chef
Out of curiosity, what practical things do you think are really basic, that aren't taught in school, but absolutely should be?

- My mom had to teach me how to balance a checkbook. I graduated HS in 1973 and had taken algebra and advanced geometry, but she had to teach me how to balance a checkbook. Basic training instructors are still receiving 17-30 year olds who think that if there's a check in the checkbook, there is money in their account. Ouch.

- When I was a kid, girls took home ec, boys took shop. I went into the service, in a males-only field not knowing that you screw clockwise to get the screw in, counter to get it out. Both boys and girls should take basics in both. Now I hear some schools are dropping both for financial reasons, and in fact they're necessary life skills.

- Debt/credit management. Again, should be part of a basic math program.

What do you think?

-

I agree with you Claire, there should be classes that get kids ready for life...who cares if they recite a soliloquy if they are unable to buy groceries, balance a checkbook or tighten a screw. There are so many helpless people out there, giving their money away to someone with simple skills.

Yeah, once upon a time it was considered a parent's job to educate in these matters. Well, in this day of both parents working full time or more, or older parents who simply don't have the patience to teach these things, I think a class done in middle or early high school as a basic part of the curriculum might help a bit.

Doesn't it depend on the age group you're talking about? This is the way I would structure a curriculum:

Kindergarten - learning to socialize and play with others.

Early Grade School (Grades 1 - 6) let's get them reading, spelling, basic math, beginning civics and American history/geography.