Rock Crab

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Timothy

Head Chef
I have a question for those who are familiar with "rock crab". I've never tried it before, but here in Florida, in the USA, it's about half the cost of the "Snow Crab" that is common.

My question is; what do you do with it and how is it eaten usually? I can see that each cluster is much smaller and compact than snow crab is, but do you eat it the same way? Does it taste similar to snow crab?

I'm interested, because I love the snow crab, but can't afford to eat it very often due to the price per/pound being 7-10 dollars. That's more than most of my food costs.

Thanks for any help offered!

Maybe someone in your area will have to help you. We have rock crab here in Nanaimo, BC Canada and I caught some one day. To me, I find it doesn't have much taste to it compared to the dungeness and king crab we get out here. I see there are quite a few recipes in the internet made with rock crab.

Tim does it look like this one, I looked on the internet and the pics for a Rock Crab looked the same DSCF0160.jpg

I'm not an expert on crab by any means! But I have had rock crab a few times. My brother cooked it, just boiled and served with garlic and lemon butter and crisp baguettes :) Delicious!

Tim does it look like this one, I looked on the internet and the pics for a Rock Crab looked the sameView attachment 11476

Hi Bolas De Fraile, it's good to meet you. The rock crab is sold here as only clusters. The main body of the crab is no longer there, so I have no idea what it looked like when whole. The clusters are about half the size of those which are harvested from Blue Crab or Snow Crab. WAY smaller than King Crab. They are sold already cooked, as are the other types sold here. The only live crab I've eaten are Blue Crab that I have caught myself here. They are delicous, but I no longer go to catch them.