White spot forming in tomato paste

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Madison554

Assistant Cook
I'm cooking the tomatoes for tomato paste. I have several white stops forming on top. I have never since this before. Should I trash the batch?

I hope someone has the answer to this one. I don't make tomato paste, but have put half a can in the fridge and found white spots, and it wasn't long enough for it to be mold. Come on you food scientists, help us!

Thanks Claire, I'm pretty new to this, I made tomato sauce yesterday and didn't see any white spots.

Mold can form really fast on moist foods, just scoop off the top layer that has spot on it and use as intended. If the food is not old then it will be fine. Same thing with blocks of cheese, sometimes when they get a bit moist a bit of white mold will form on the outside. Just cut it off. Just don't try this with meats, if they get moldy chuck it out!

Thanks, snip. I knew that about cheese. Usually if I need a tablespoon or so of the paste I simply put the rest in a baggie in the freezer. But I've occasionally put in the fridge, thinking I'd use it the next day and the spots formed before 24 hours were up. It isn't very expensive, so I just tossed it (when in doubt, throw it out).

Last edited:
Claire said:
Thanks, snip. I knew that about cheese. Usually if I need a tablespoon or so of the paste I simply put the rest in a baggie in the freezer. But I've occasionally put in the fridge, thinking I'd use it the next day and the spots formed before 24 hours were up.

Have you tried the tomato paste in a tube? Good stuff if you just need a bit.

Yeah, but I can't get it regularly and when I can it is quite expensive. Freezing works just fine, I just can't put it in the fridge!