Hello out there.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sylviab

Assistant Cook
My name is Sylvia, I live in Arizona but I was born & raised in Canada. At first I had a hard time to convert temperatures but now I just look them up online or use the calculator one of my sisters gave me on my last visit home, lol.

I'm a housewife and step mom to two and step grandma to two. All of which lives in another State, so it's just hubby and I that I cook for. He's pretty picky, we've been married 8 years and I'm still learning what he likes and doesn't like.:LOL:

I've been looking around the web for dish ideas for pork and chicken, he likes how I cook chicken breast, I use extra virgin olive oil along with honey for flavoring...and some spices, pork chops are pretty much the same way...pork roast I make in the slow cooker/crock pot, but I've only made a whole roasted chicken once and a whole roasted turkey once so this is all new to me again. But thanks for having me, any questions just hollar.:cool:

My very favorite recommendation for those who are new to roasting an entire bird is to fill the cavity with pierced lemons and a whole head of broken up (don't need to peel) garlic. Roast according to any recipe for a whole chicken. Throw away the lemons, but use the garlic to spread on a crusty bread. You'd be amazed at how mild all that garlic becomes. I like it with a cucumber salad and couscous. After decades, this is still my "go to" preparation for an entire bird and everyone loves it.

Welcome to DC and the USA.

thanks folks!