I'm new at this... looking for input on some good cookware

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brandonb

Assistant Cook
So after coming to the realization that I'm spending way too much on going out to eat, I've decided that I need to start cooking more.

My deliemma: I'm trying to research a good cookware set but getting more and more confused, so any imput is greatly appreciated.

I'm a very novice cook so I don't need anything crazy, but I do want a nice quality set. Please post your suggestions for me :)

THANK YOU

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to DC Brandon. This topic comes up from time to time. The answer invariably is "it depends". What do you like to cook? What is your budget? Does it have to be a matched set? How many people to you cook for?

One argument against buying a "set" of cookware in the box is that it almost always includes items you don't need or won't use.

Another argument is to spend your money on a few quality pieces and build your set over time. Perhaps start with 1 frying pan (de buyer), a sauce pan (all-clad) and a dutch oven (le creuset).

Okay. Now you're talking. I can't hardly bring myself to eat out anymore. I can't help thinking how much better and cheaper I can do it. (I'll go out for deli sandwiches, because I don't keep all those meats around, and for some ethnic foods, again because I don't keep everything at home.)

And it's normal to be confused. Ceramic, cast iron, stainless steel, hard anodized, Teflon, copper... First, don't think you have to spend a lot. Remember that all cookware is "non-stick" when used properly. Why not stay simple and learn to do it right? I happen to like stainless steel with copper or aluminum internal heavy discs in the bottom. They heat more evenly. (You can spend a bunch of money to get an internal copper layer up the sides, too, but how often does that matter?)