Prime Rib

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jessica_Morris

Senior Cook
DH wants me to attempt to cook Prime Rib, someone at work gave him a recipe so I guess I'll be attempting to make it. Wanted to know if anyone on here had an tips for me? They'd be greatly appreciated since I'm a newbie at this.

Basic Prime Rib. Digital meat thermometer with probe is a necessity for monitoring internal temp.

Ingredients:

prime rib bone-in roast well marbled
kosher salt
whole peppercorns, crushed
Worcestershire sauce

Prep:

Allow meat to come to room temperature before seasoning or cooking

Cooking:

Preheat oven to 325
Place roast in uncovered roasting pan fat side up
GENEROUSLY coat all surfaces of roast with:
Worcestershire sauce
crushed peppercorns
kosher salt
Add about 1/4 cup of water in bottom of roasting pan

Roast until center reaches 140 degrees (medium rare) or longer if you prefer more doneness. Actual cooking time will vary depending on size of roast. 12 pound standing rib roast takes 3-4 hours. Remove from oven and allow to rest for 10 minutes.

Generous amount of S&P. Wire rack in roasting pan. Pre-heat oven to 500F. Place on middle oven rack and cook at 500F for 5 minutes. Lower oven temp to 200F and cook 1 hour per pound. Perfect medium-rare.

Craig

PR is one of the easiest things to make - and the easiest to screw up. You must have a thermometer. You can get one from BB&B for about $20. I have been using Kenji Alts recipe for several years now, and it is always perfect. I get a prime cut of rib from Wegmans (last year was $107 for the roast) so I want to make sure it is perfect. Here is Kenji's recipe. (He went to MIT, so it's a little "sciencey."

The Food Lab: How to Cook a Perfect Prime Rib | Serious Eats