ISO - Balsamic Vinegar sauce for Steak

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

misskalli

Assistant Cook
HELP!
Hi everyone, I'm new to this so please be patient with me.
I like to cook with my boyfriend to make fancy meals. Last spring, we got a recipe from a grocery store where you cook some steaks on stovetop, and in a small saucepan, you boil balsamic vinegar with other ingredients to make this delicious sauce you drizzle on the steak.

We lost the recipe and have searched endlessly for it anywhere we can think of, but have had no luck.

It was something along the lines of boiling the sauce for a certain amount of minutes, then reducing heat (i think) then I think you might have added some other ingredients but you had to let it thicken. It almost burned your eyes when you took the lid off but it was the most delicious thing I've ever tasted.

Has anyone heard of this or know what I'm talking about who can help me recreate a sauce like this? Thank you so much!

Last edited:
Yeah. Quite easy to make.....I'm not sure about the butter. I think most reduction recipes are just the vinegar and a bit of sugar.....You could add garlic if you wanted. I would just add a whole clove and remove it after it cools.....I have never tried it with butter, but my guess is that it would separate and not really look good. It's not necessary.

Last edited:
You could always swirl in the butter at the end. It really adds a nice touch to a sauce.

I have done sauce this for Steak Au Poivre.
IMO I wouldn't add sugar, I also wouldn't use the most expensive balsamic you can find. Very simple.

Reduce vinegar down to desired concentration {1 c. to half c. or so, taste as you go} add salt to taste, lower heat, swirl in 2 TBSP whole butter till melted. Pour over steaks.
Done Deal!
Remember to play with your food!

Edited to add, Minced shallots are always good to

Last edited: