Hello, new here. New to cooking.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Resendiz

Assistant Cook
Long story short, my mom always spoiled me when it came to food. I never enjoyed cooking, let alone the sight of uncooked meat/chicken. Now I am 26 and have found out that I spend $25/day on food. That's a lot of money and I can't afford that anymore. I dont know how I have been doing that for the past 4 years since I moved out.

When I learn something I want to do it right. I have a ton of recipe books here but I don't know a THING about cooking. Ever since I have been watching Gordon Ramsay on tv including Kitchen Nightmares, Hells Kitchen and my favorite Gordon's Great escapes, I've been very interested in learning how to cook. I like how he seems to know all ingredients as if he were a human wikipedia.

I thought i had found what a complete begginer like me is looking for, but i guess the links no longer exist.

Can someone help me by pointing me to the right direction? I don't want to actually cook just yet. I want to know stuff like what temperature does meet cook, how long should it be left there and basic food/ingredient educational material. I guess I am more than a beginner, I've never cooked anything other than eggs in all my 26 years.

Any suggestions?

Thank You very much in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome, resendiz! I second Hoot's recommendation of The Joy of Cooking. There are usually copies in second hand bookstores as well.

This forum is a wealth of information, there is always someone here to help. :)

learn as much as possible; read as much as posdible. imagine it in great detail.

you'll still need to come back to us when you actually start because it takes real practice. and most oif us, inuding gordon ramsay, are just practicing.

welcome, resendiz.

learn as much as possible; read as much as posdible. imagine it in great detail.