Camp Coffee

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hoot

Executive Chef
Moderator Emeritus
I reckon this is as good a place for this topic as any.
When you go camping, how do you make coffee?

Generally, when I go campin' there ain't no electricity. I have been making coffee for nigh on to thirty years using the following method.
I reckon some folks will not care for it, but when in a primitive camp and someone else has made the fire and the coffee, I have found that most folks are mighty glad to have Hoot's coffee.
Build a good fire (that might be a topic for a later discussion)
Fetch water for the coffee pot and set the pot on the grate or hang the pot over the fire.
Throw in a couple of handfuls of coffee.
Let the pot go until it boils over.
Remove the coffee pot from over the fire afore it puts the fire out.
Pour some cold water in the pot.
The cold water will carry the grounds to the bottom of the coffeepot.
IMHO, this is some of the best coffee in the world.
True, the last cup or two will likely have some grounds in it, but that is a sure sign it's time to make another pot.
'Course, some folks have gotten lazy and use them little packages of coffee that you find in the grocery store.
As this is polite company, I won't say what we call them things at Rendezvous.

I believe I am not supposed to say this..but I do not camp. Lol not because I do not like it, but because of the toilet issues there.

some friends tried to change my mind several years ago but I think i am hopeless...so they gave up.

Hoot, what about taking several bags for the fiter coffee machine with you? if you do not like grounds in your cup.

Honestly I wouldn't mind trying your coffee, in fact I love coffee so much that I often chew a coffee bean, smells divine